The Gaborizer is an image processing filter that extracts the streakiness of an image. Do do this, first the structure tensor is computed that summarizes for each pixel the mainly occurring stripe directions in its vicinity. Then each point is replaced by a Gabor patch. A Gabor patch looks like this, for instance:

Gabor patch

It is a plane wave, multiplied by a (Gaussian) window function, so that it has significant presence only in a limited region. The Gabor patch that replaces the pixel is determined by the structure tensor: The stripe direction is according to the main stripe direction of the input image (given by the second eigenvector of the structure tensor), the wave's frequency depends on the specificity of the streakiness (2·(second eigenvalue)/(trace) - 1) and the phase is random.

Why is the phase chosen randomly? Well, if you superpose n sine waves with the same frequency, with amplitude 1 and with random phase, the result is a single sine wave with expected amplitude √n. Analogously, the stripe patterns of neighbouring Gabor patches that have been computed from a similar structure tensor should overlap to form a seamless pattern.

Here I have applied the effect to an image of a zebra:

Gaborized zebra

It is clearly discernible where the zebra was and in which directions its stripes ran.

You can also twist the stripe direction of the Gabor patches relative to the original direction. In this way the following Video was made:


(mp4, webm)

I think it is interesting how the three-pointed star pattern on the zebra's butt makes two thirds of one revolution in the same time that the stripe direction makes a full turn.

In the areas with uniform orientation, the stripe direction rotates, however this does not lead to a motion of the whole pattern. This is a little strange if you think about it. Here is this effect in pure form:


(mp4, webm)

After you've stared at this video for some time, you will not have the impression that everything you look at is rotating, although it is well-known that this is usually the case after watching a rotating pattern.

I've written the Gaborizer filter as a command line program in C++. Here you can get the source code.

Share:  E-Mail Twitter Facebook Google+ LinkedIn Reddit
Contact and legal info | © 2016-07-31 siquod.org

Discussion

No entries yet

Add your comment


:
-- Enter the preceding text:

Der Gaborisierer ist ein Bildverarbeitungs-Filter, der die Streifigkeit eines Bildes extrahiert. Dafür wird zunächst der Strukturtensor berechnet, der für jeden Bildpunkt die Information über die in der Umgebung hauptsächlich vorkommenden Streifenrichtungen zusammenfasst. Dann wird jeder Bildpunkt durch ein Gabor-Patch ersetzt. Ein Gabor-Patch sieht zum Beispiel so aus:

Gabor-Patch

Es ist eine ebene Welle, die mit einer (gaußschen) Fensterfunktion multipliziert wurde, sodass sie nur in einem beschränkten Gebiet präsent ist. Das Gabor-Patch für jeden Pixel wird durch den Strukturtensor bestimmt: Die Streifenrichtung richtet sich nach der Haupt-Streifenrichtung des Eingabebildes (dem zweiten Eigenvektor des Strukturtensors), die Frequenz der Welle hängt von der Ausprägung der Streifigkeit ab (2·(zweiter Eigenwert)÷(Spur) - 1) und die Phase ist zufällig.

Warum ist die Phase zufällig gewählt? Nun, wenn man n Sinuswellen mit gleicher Frequenz, mit Amplitude 1 und mit zufälliger Phase überlagert, bekommt man eine einzige Sinuswelle der erwarteten Amplitude √n. Analog dazu sollten sich dann die Streifenmuster benachbarter Gabor-Patches, die aus einem ähnlichen Strukturtensor berechnet wurden, zu einem nahtlosen Muster überlagern.

Hier habe ich den Effekt mal auf ein Bild von einem Zebra angewendet:

Gaborisiertes Zebra

Man erkennt deutlich, wo das Zebra war und in welche Richtung seine Streifen verliefen.

Man kann die Streifenrichtung der Gabor-Patches auch gegenüber der Originalrichtung verdrehen. Auf diese Weise ist folgendes Video entstanden:


(mp4, webm)

Interessant finde ich, wie das dreizackige Sternmuster auf dem Hinterteil des Zebras eine Zweidrittel-Umdrehung macht in derselben Zeit, in der die Streifenrichtung eine volle Umdrehung macht.

In den Gebieten mit einheitlicher Ausrichtung rotiert die Streifenrichtung zwar, es kommt aber letztendlich nicht zu einer Bewegung des Musters. Das ist etwas merkwürdig, wenn man drüber nachdenkt. Hier ist der Effekt in Reinform:


(mp4, webm)

Wenn man lange auf dieses Video gestarrt hat, hat man danach nicht den Eindruck, alles was man anschaut würde sich drehen, wie es ja bekanntlich sonnst nach dem Betrachten rotierender Muster der Fall ist.

Ich habe den Gaborisier-Filter als Kommandozeilenprogramm in C++ geschrieben. Hier gibt es den Quellcode.

Teilen:  E-Mail Twitter Facebook Google+ LinkedIn Reddit
Impressum und Kontakt | © 2016-07-31 siquod.org

Diskussion

Bisher keine Beiträge

Kommentar abgeben


:
-- Gib den voranstehenden Text ein: